AddressÂ : Turaidas iela 10, Sigulda
Phone: +371 67972376
01.05.-30.10. 9:00 – 20:00
01.11.-30.04. 10:00 – 17:00
Building of the castle was started in 1214 according to directions given by Albert, archibishop of Riga in the place where in former times was located wooden castle of Liv leader Kaupo. â€śCastellumâ€ť type fortress was built and named Fredeland in translation it means â€śLand of Peaceâ€ť. This name was not popular and but the local name Turaida survived till nowaday. Perfection of defensive system of the castle continued also in the next centuries â€“ in 14th century was built towershaped southern section, in the beginning of 15th century when fire arms were invented was built semirounded western tower. Along with formation of fortifications household buildings and living houses were erected in the inner yard of the castle. Small reconstruction work was carried out in 17th century though castle started to loose its strategical meaning. After fire in 1776 it was not reconstructed and in the course of time it was ruined.
In the beginning of 20th century from Turaida castle there were left over separate fragments of defensive wall and some buildings â€“ main tower, semirounded tower and western section. Since 1976 regular archeological escavations were carried out which were followed by restauration and conservation works as a result castle regained a part of its initial shape. Exhibitions about history of brick castle and Gauja Livs are available in restaured buildings. From the view place of the main tower you can see the unique landscape of picturesque Gauja valley and territory of Turaida Museum Reserve.